Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Sinan Can

Sinan Can
Sinan Can

(Netherlands, 1977) is a producer, investigative journalist and documentary filmmaker. Since 2011, Can has been making documentary series for BNNVARA. In Bloedbroeders (Blood Brothers) he investigates the Armenian genocide. In 2016, his triptych De Arabische Storm (The Arab Storm) about the consequences of the Arab Spring was released, as well as the series Onze missie in Afghanistan (Our Mission in Afghanistan). In 2017 he created the award-nominated diptych In het spoor van IS (Trail of IS) and in 2018 he portrayed the misery of jihadists' children in De verloren kinderen van het kalifaat (The Lost Children of the Caliphate). In 2022 the 4-part series Breuklijnen (Fault Lines) was broadcast, in which Can portrays problematic European neighbourhoods of Paris (Clichy), Brussels (Molenbeek), Stockholm (Rinkeby) and London (Tower Hamlets). January 2023 Dutch national TV network NPO1 broadcast Sinan op zoek naar het paradijs (Sinan's search for paradise), a four-part documentary series he made together with Thomas Blom. Besides his TV work, Sinan writes background stories and books to accompany his series (such as Bloedbroeders and De Arabische storm).

(WN 2023)

Archive available for: Sinan Can

  • Winternachten 2023

    Haagse literatuurprijzen: a festive programme celebrating The Hague's Literary Award winners

    With: Aad Meinderts, Amara van der Elst, Chelsy Valentina, Dominique De Groen, Donald Niedekker, Farah Karimi, Hasan Gök, Hashem Kabreet, Hassnae Bouazza, Jeremy Jordan Rosa, Jina Sumedi, Kaja Wolffers, LUWTEN, Marion Bloem, Marjan Slob, Obe Alkema, Orchestre Partout, Saskia Bruines, Sinan Can

    The Winternachten festival 2023 opened with prose, poetry, spoken word, music and the ceremony of the literary prizes of the City of the The Hague. The prize winners Marion Bloem, Donald Niedekker, Dominique De Groen and Marjan Slob (respectively) received the Constantijn Huygens-, F. Bordewijk-, Jan Campert-, and J. Greshoff- prizes from Saskia Bruines, alderman of Finance, Culture and Economy of The Hague.

    The prize winners were each of them be honoured with performances by special guests, including research journalist and documentary filmmaker Sinan Can, poet Obe Alkema, The Hague student Jeremy Jordan Rosa and film and TV producer Kaja Wolffers (son of Marion Bloem).

    The programme kicked off with the first official performance of Chelsy Valentina, the brand new and first Jonge Stadsdichter van Den Haag 2023 (Young City Poet of The Hague). Percussionist and handpan player Hashem Kabreet and Orchestre Partout gave music performances.

    Farah Karimi, who chaired the Board of Writers Unlimited, and Aad Meinderts, director of the Literatuurmuseum spoke words of welcome. Additionally, the jubilee publication on the occasion of 75 years of The Hague literary prizes, was presented to the alderman.

    Lobby programme with Amara van der Elst, Hasan Gök and the Jonge Stadsdichter
    From 14:30 hours, preceding the award ceremony in Zaal 1, spoken word artist Hasan Gök presented from the lobby stage a short interview with Chelsey Valentina, the Jonge Stadsdichter (Young Civic Poet). Spoken word artist Amara van der Elst performed, and also Hasan Gök performed some of his poems, accompanied by Jina Sumedi on keyboard.

    Bookstore De Vries van Stockum was present in the lobby with a stand offering books by participating authors of this programme, among others — including signing opportunties!

    Haagse literatuurprijzen was curated by Jet Steinz for Literatuurmuseum/Writers Unlimited. Moderator was Hassnae Bouazza.