Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Michael Krüger

Michael Krüger
Michael Krüger

(Germany, 1943) is a writer, translator and publisher. He has said that his life's goal is to "show people that a day without poetry is a wasted day." The late Michael Zeeman called him "a romantic in the era of cynicism, a lyrical voice of desire." A selection of Krüger's poetry, Voor het onweer (Before the Storm), was published in 2012, translated by his longtime translator Cees Nooteboom. In his introduction, Nooteboom praised Krüger's "utterly unique" voice "that pulls you into an intimacy, parlando poetry of deceptive simplicity that sees and tells much." From 1968 to 2013, Krüger worked for the famous German Carl Hanser publishing house, which he eventually directed. Since 1975, he has been a jury member for the Petrarch Prize for European poets. In 2013 he became President of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts.


Archive available for: Michael Krüger

  • Winternachten 2016

    Writers' Fest

    With: Aad Meinderts, Adriaan van Dis, Anna Woltz, Annelies Verbeke, Dick van der Harst, Edward van de Vendel, Femke Halsema, Francis Broekhuijsen, Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer, Job Cohen, Joris Wijsmuller, Lamin Kuyateh, Michael Krüger, Rodaan Al Galidi, Typhoon

    A festive event built around the presentation of the Jan Campert Prizes, the literary awards of the City of The Hague. In collaboration with the Jan Campert Foundation and the Dutch Foundation for Literature, Dutch literature is celebrated with various performances by writers, poets, and representatives of other disciplines (who honour the winners). The event is intended, in part, to highlight the state of Dutch literature. The afternoon culminates in the presentation of the Constantijn Huygens Prize for a whole body of work, which this year is awarded to Adriaan van Dis, beloved author and a great friend of the festival since day one. In Dutch

  • Winternachten 2016 – Friday Night Unlimited

    Hello, Poetry and Music

    At the end of the evening, let yourself be seduced by poetry from home and abroad. Listen to young poets Jeroen van Rooij and Runa Svetlikova and meet acclaimed poets like Adonis and Michael Krüger. MC Anna Luyten also introduces three nominees of the VSB Poetry Prize: Geert van Istendael, Maud Vanhauwaert and Pieter Boskma. Varied music by Dick van der Harst and his musicians will let you dream the night away. As a special commission by the festival, he sets one of Adonis' poems to music.