Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld - foto Shody Careman
Marieke Lucas Rijneveld - foto Shody Careman

(Netherlands, 1991) won the 2016 C. Buddingh Prize for best poetry debut for Kalfvlies (Calf's Membrane, 2015), followed in 2019 by his collection Fantoommerrie (Phantom Mare). His poems are riddle-like prose stories featuring notably strong metaphors. He writes about grand themes like death and loneliness, and about his experiences as the country child who goes to study in the big city. The first Dutch writer to do so, Rijneveld won the 2020 International Booker Prize for The Discomfort of Evening, the English translation by Michele Hutchison of his 2018 debut novel De avond is ongemak. In 2021 he published his second novel Mijn lieve gunsteling (My Heavenly Favorite, to be published in English in 2024), in which a veterinarian and a farmer's daughter develop a mutual obsessive fascination. His poetry collection Komijnsplitsers (Cumin Splitters, 2022) explores what it means be home: in a house, within oneself, and in relation to others. His third novel Het verdriet van Sigi F. (The Grief of Sigi F.) is scheduled to be published in 2023, followed by its English translation later.

(WU 2023)

Archive available for: Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

  • Winternachten 2023

    De grondstof van het gedicht (The raw material of poems)

    With: Alara Adilow, Asha Karami, Caro Derkx, Dean Bowen, Irina Baldini, Johan van Dijke, Maarten van der Graaff, Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, Martin Rombouts, Marwin Vos, Maxime Garcia Diaz, Mustafa Stitou, Willie Darktrousers

    For the closing event of the 2023 Winternachten festival, poets and artists seeked out the raw material of poems. How do the violence of resource extraction, the destruction of lives and worlds, and the depletion of Earth become audible and palpable in language? What are poems made of: can they, too, plunder and harm?

    De grondstof van het gedicht (The raw material of poems) was a Dutch-language event with familiar and new voices, unexpected performances, dance, music and images.

    Anyone who opens a children's book about a farm does not see hyper-modern, destructive industry, but lovely scenes. This obfuscation of reality, according to British zoologist, author and activist George Monbiot, is due to persistent images about our dealings with animals and land, borrowed from poetry. "One of the greatest threats to life on Earth is poetry," he wrote provocatively.

    Yet the plundering of Earth has indeed made its way into modern poetry. In the poem Sinaasappel, bitter je schil (Orange, bitter your peel) by Surinamese poet Michaël Slory, the minerals themselves bear witness to that history:

    'Op Afobaka wil ik zijn
    als de arbeiders staken,
    de morgen zich boort
    in de papaya,
    het bauxiet woedend zingt
    over zoveel misbruik,
    zoveel leugens
    zoveel misleiding.'

    ("On Afobaka I want to be
    when the workers strike,
    the morning drills itself
    into the papaya,
    the bauxite sings furiously
    about so much abuse,
    so many lies
    so much deception.")

    Bookstore De Vries van Stockum will be present in the lobby with a stand offering books by participating authors of this programme, among others — including signing opportunities!

    De grondstof van het gedicht was curated by poet and writer Maarten van der Graaff.

  • Winternachten 2017

    World Stories at Dakota Theatre

    With: Denise Jannah, Francis Broekhuijsen, Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

    There's nothing better than telling one another stories in these times of selfies and snapchat! World Stories now has become a beautiful tradition at Dakota Theatre: bring along an object that has a good story attached to it and tell it!

    Denise Jannah starts off the afternoon with her story, and of course she sings for us too. Young poetry talent Marieke Rijneveld - winner of the C.Buddingh' Prize 2016 for the best Dutch-language poetry debut for her poem collection Kalfsvlies - will read from her work, just like the Haagse Hogeschool students from drama teacher Martine Zeeman. Host Francis Broekhuijsen sends a warm invitation your way! A programme in Dutch - For English storytelling see 'World Stories in ISS".

  • Winternachten 2017 – Saturday Night Unlimited

    The Book of My Life: Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

    The poet talks about her favourite book - the book that inspires or moves her; the book that formed her moral or intellectual compass; the book that she would recommend to anyone. Interviewer: Arjan Peters. In Dutch.

  • Winternachten 2017 – Friday Night Unlimited

    Friday Night Wintercafé: Spot on Young Poets

    Francis Broekhuijsen presents students of Hague high schools reading their own poetry, the result of workshops led by members of the Hague Poets' Guild. Young poet and 2016 C. Buddingh Prize winner Marieke Rijneveld and British poet and performer Salena Godden keep them company. During each Spot on Young Poets event (Friday and Saturday), one finalist for the Young Campert Prize will be chosen. Both finalists will read their poems during Sunday's Writers' Festival event, ahead of the award ceremony of the Jan Campert Foundation prizes. The public will choose one of them as the winner of this new prize for best Hague student poet. Come down and witness the literary future!

  • Winternachten 2017 – Friday Night Unlimited

    The Secret Space - Poetry

    Within De verborgen ruimte (The Secret Space), the map is newly read and drawn by nine poets. Which sounds and tones belong in it, what has not yet been said, and what is continually misunderstood? Who is on the sidelines or smack in the centre? The Secret Space could be in suburbia, in a body, in a factory farm, or in an addictions clinic. This has consequences - whoever peeks into the secret space loses a number of his or her certainties. When the map is redrawn, no one finds their way home.

    The "VSB Poetry Prize on Tour" forms part of The Secret Space - among the performing poets are the authors of three volumes nominated for the VSB Poetry Prize: Kwaadgesternte (Born Under a Bad Sign) by Hannah van Binsbergen, Lichtmeters by Ruth Lasters and Koelkastlicht (Refrigerator Light) by Rodaan Al Galidi. In addition, Marieke Rijneveld, Dominique de Groen, Mira Feticu, Obe Alkema, Simone Atangana Bekono and Ton van 't Hof will read from their work. The Secret Space is organized and presented by the poet Maarten van der Graaff, winner of the C.Buddingh' Award 2014 for his debut collection Vluchtautogedichten (Getaway Car Poems). Programme in Dutch