Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Erik Spinoy

Erik Spinoy -  foto Tineke de Lange
Erik Spinoy -  foto Tineke de Lange

(Sint-Niklaas, 1960) is professor of modern Dutch literature at the University of Liège. He obtained his doctorate in Louvain with a thesis on the work of Paul van Ostaijen, gathered a following being an editor with the literary magazine Yang and was at the inception of Freespace Nieuwzuid. Discursive machine for cultural critique and amusement. After the double anthology Golden Boys with Dirk van Bastelaere, Spinoy published De jagers in de sneeuw (The hunters in the snow) which won him the Flemish Prize for Best Literary Debut. This was followed by Susette, for which he received the Hugues C. Pernath Award and Fratsen (Caprices). After a ten-year silence Spinoy started publishing books of poetry in Boze wolven (Angry wolves),which led to the Prize for Literature of the Flemish Provinces, L, which resulted in the Literary Award of the Province of West-Flanders and Ik, en andere gedichten (I and other poems). Spinoy's seventh book of poetry, Dode kamer (Dead room, Bezige Bij Antwerpen, 2011), was nominated for the VSB poetry award, owing to its uniform high quality'.

(WU 2012)

Archive available for: Erik Spinoy

  • Winternachten 2012

    A tribute to Hella S. Haasse & Jan Campert Awards

    With: Arjan Peters, Benny Lindelauf, Ellen van Lelyveld, Elsbeth Etty, Erik Spinoy, Gustaaf Peek, Kees 't Hart, Loes Luca, Margot Dijkgraaf, Marijn van Lelyveld, Matthijs Ponte, Maxim Februari, Patricia de Groot, Pieter Steinz, Rudi Wester, Willem Nijholt

    In cooperation with the Haasse Estate and Publisher Querido Writers Unlimited organises a tribute in the Koninklijke Schouwburg: a festive meeting in which the richness and diversity of her life and work are celebrated.

    Willem Nijholt reads from his letters to the writer and Loes Luca performs cabaret texts written by Hella Haasse. Elsbeth Etty, Marjolijn Februari, Kees 't Hart, Patricia de Groot, Gustaaf Peek, Margot Dijkgraaf, Rudi Wester and Arjan Peters tell anecdotes and stories. Her daughters Ellen and Marijn van Lelyveld will add a personal contribution to the programme, which will be presented by Pieter Steinz. Hella S. Haasse died on 29 september 2011. She leaves behind a massive oeuvre, among other books the popular novels Oeroeg, In a Dark Wood Wandering, The Tea Lords. She won many awards, including the Dutch Letters Award in 2004.

    After the interval the Jan Campert Prizes will be presented, the literary awards of the Municipality of The Hague, including the Constantijn Huygens Prize, which has been awarded to A.F.Th. van de Heijden. Erik Spinoy (1960) is recipient of the Jan Campert-prijs 2011 for his book of poetry Dode kamer (Dead room). Gustaaf Peek (1975) is recipient of the F. Bordewijk Prize 2011 for his novel Ik was Amerika (I was America). Benny Lindelauf (1964) receives the biennial Nienke van Hichtum Prize for children's literature 2011 for De hemel van Heivisj (Heivisj's heaven) the triennial G.H. 's Gravesande Prize for special literary merit 2011 goes to Stichting Perdu. Host: Trio Droomvogels.

  • Winternachten 2012 – Winternacht 2

    Shortlist VSB Poetry Prize

    Days before the announcement of the winner of the VSB Poetry Award, the five nominees read at the festival. Peter Ghyssaert, Jan Lauwereyns, Willem Jan Otten, Erik Spinoy and Anne Vegter will recite their work. The VSB Poetry Award is being organised by our colleagues from Poetry International in Rotterdam. In Dutch.