Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Benny Lindelauf

foto Chris van Houts
foto Chris van Houts

(Sittard, 1964) as a child liked to listen to the stories his grandmother told him. Stories about her youth, and fairy tales. When he grew older he went to the Theaterschool in Amsterdam. He played and danced in various (youth) theatre productions. Meanwhile he is a fulltime writer, and he teaches people who want to learn how to write. His first book Omhoogvaldag (Falling upward day) appeared in 1998. Followed by among others Schuilen in een jas (Taking shelter in a coat) and Negen Open Armen (Nine open arms). For the latter he received the Gouden Zoen (Golden Kiss) 2005 and the Thea Beckman Award 2004. In 2010 De hemel van Heivisj (Heyvish's heaven) appeared, the sequel to Negen Open Armen, for which he received the Woutertje Pieterse Prize, the Dioraphte Youth literature prize and the Nienke van Hichtum Prize. Benny Lindelauf loves the theatre and regularly writes texts for youth theatre companies.

(WU 2012)

Archive available for: Benny Lindelauf

  • Winternachten 2012

    A tribute to Hella S. Haasse & Jan Campert Awards

    With: Arjan Peters, Benny Lindelauf, Ellen van Lelyveld, Elsbeth Etty, Erik Spinoy, Gustaaf Peek, Kees 't Hart, Loes Luca, Margot Dijkgraaf, Marijn van Lelyveld, Matthijs Ponte, Maxim Februari, Patricia de Groot, Pieter Steinz, Rudi Wester, Willem Nijholt

    In cooperation with the Haasse Estate and Publisher Querido Writers Unlimited organises a tribute in the Koninklijke Schouwburg: a festive meeting in which the richness and diversity of her life and work are celebrated.

    Willem Nijholt reads from his letters to the writer and Loes Luca performs cabaret texts written by Hella Haasse. Elsbeth Etty, Marjolijn Februari, Kees 't Hart, Patricia de Groot, Gustaaf Peek, Margot Dijkgraaf, Rudi Wester and Arjan Peters tell anecdotes and stories. Her daughters Ellen and Marijn van Lelyveld will add a personal contribution to the programme, which will be presented by Pieter Steinz. Hella S. Haasse died on 29 september 2011. She leaves behind a massive oeuvre, among other books the popular novels Oeroeg, In a Dark Wood Wandering, The Tea Lords. She won many awards, including the Dutch Letters Award in 2004.

    After the interval the Jan Campert Prizes will be presented, the literary awards of the Municipality of The Hague, including the Constantijn Huygens Prize, which has been awarded to A.F.Th. van de Heijden. Erik Spinoy (1960) is recipient of the Jan Campert-prijs 2011 for his book of poetry Dode kamer (Dead room). Gustaaf Peek (1975) is recipient of the F. Bordewijk Prize 2011 for his novel Ik was Amerika (I was America). Benny Lindelauf (1964) receives the biennial Nienke van Hichtum Prize for children's literature 2011 for De hemel van Heivisj (Heivisj's heaven) the triennial G.H. 's Gravesande Prize for special literary merit 2011 goes to Stichting Perdu. Host: Trio Droomvogels.