Ga naar de inhoud
NL EN menu

Atte Jongstra

Atte Jongstra - foto Serge Ligtenberg
Atte Jongstra - foto Serge Ligtenberg

(Terwispel, 1956) is a Dutch prose writer, poet, critic and essayist. After finishing secondary school in Drachten he studied Dutch in Amsterdam. His first publication in bookform was published in 1985. On the occasion of the 75 anniversary of the Multatuli Society he compiled an anthology entitled: De Multatulianen. Four years later he published De psychologie van de zwavel (The Psychology of Sulphur) (nominated for the AKO Literature Prize, in 1990 awarded with the Geertjan Lubberhuizen Prize). After that many titles followed, among others Cicerone (1992), Het huis M. Memoirs of a Speaker (The House M. Memoirs of a Speaker) (1993), Familieportret (Family Portrait) (1996, awarded with the Jan Greshoff Prize), Disgenoten (Table Companions) (1998). The novels fit into the 26-volume 'modern memory lexicon' the writer is working on. Jongstra has written under several pseudonyms, among which are Arno Breekveld, Agna Eygenraam, Maria Reinhoudt, Ds H.M. Terwispel, J. Voordewind and Arno II van Brechelhain. In 2014 he published his autobiographical and illustrated novel Worst (Sausage). Jongstra was awarded the Constantijn Huijgens Prize 2016 for his literary works.

(WU 2017)

Archive available for: Atte Jongstra

  • Winternachten 2017

    The Writers' Fest

    With: Aad Meinderts, Alfred Marseille, Anton Valens, Atte Jongstra, Benno Tempel, Charlotte Van den Broeck, Eric Vloeimans, Hassnae Bouazza, Jan Baeke, Joris Wijsmuller, Karin Amatmoekrim, Katinka Polderman, Kees 't Hart, Max Pam

    A festive program built around the presentation of the Jan Campert Prizes, the literary awards of the City of The Hague. We celebrate Dutch literature with a variety of performances by writers, poets and musicians. Writer Karin Amatmoekrim gives us her views on "The State of Dutch Letters." Hassnae Bouazza is the MC.

    Before Joris Wijsmuller, alderman for Culture of The Hague, hands out the prizes, the audience will determine which of the three middle-school nominees will receive the first young poet prize of The Hague, The Young Campert Award. Afterward, Jan Baeke receives the Jan Campert Prize for his volume of poetry Seizoensroddel ('Season's Gossip'). He is honoured by video-artist Alfred Marseille, who presents a short film. Anton Valens receives the F. Bordewijk Prize for his novel Het Compostcirculatieplan. His laudatio is gevin by stand-up comedian Katinka Polderman. The essay award, the Greshof Prize, goes to Kees 't Hart for Het gelukkige schrijven. Benno Tempel, director of the The Hague Municipal Museum, will honour him in a speech. The afternoon culminates with the presentation of the Constantijn Huygens Prize for a body of work, which will be given to Atte Jongstra this year. Trumpet player Eric Vloeimans will create a musical improvisation to honour him, and Max Pam will honour him in a speech. The young flemish poet Charlotte Van den Broeck will read her poems to us. This event is a collaboration between the Jan Campert Foundation and the Literatuurmuseum. Programme in Dutch.

  • Winternachten 2007 – WINTERNACHT 1

    Gulliver's New Travels

    'My little friend Grildrig... I cannot but conclude that the majority of your inhabitants belongs to the most damaging and the most detestable vermin that Mother nature ever allowed to walk on the face of the earth,' Jonathan Swift wrote in his famous 'travel story' Gulliver's Travels. Today only the cartoon-film version is known, but Swift wanted more than just entertain. He wanted to hold a mirror to people's faces. Nukila Amal (Indonesia), Rustum Kozain (South Africa), Atte Jongstra and Allard Schröder found new destinations for Gulliver. Together they wrote Gullivers New Travels and they brought this contemporary version to the stage in Winternachten, directed by Carel Alphenaar. English spoken.