Ga naar de inhoud
NL EN menu

Carmien Michels

Carmien Michels - foto Koen Broos
Carmien Michels - foto Koen Broos

(Leuven, 1990) looks at language and story in all forms, both verbal and non-verbal. She studied language arts at the Royal Conservatory in Antwerp, where she now works as a researcher. In 2016, she won the Dutch and European Poetry Slam Championship and took bronze at the world championship in Paris. Her debut novel We zijn water (We Are Water) interweaves stories of young people who are stubbornly finding their own way through life. Her next one, Vraag het aan de bliksem (Go Ask the Lightening, 2015), is a contemporary coming-of-age novel. Her first volume of poetry, We komen van ver (We Come from Afar) appeared in 2017. In 2014 she established ARType, with the aim of bringing together artists from diverse disciplines and professionalizing slam poetry. In 2016 she toured with the BARTóK, a musical theatre production combining literary performance, classical cello, comtemporary music and live sand art.


Archive available for: Carmien Michels

  • Winternachten 2018

    Writers Fest

    With: Aad Meinderts, Alejandra Theus, Annet Schaap, Arie Storm, Carmien Michels, Cyrille Offermans, Ernst Reijseger, Hans Tentije, Hassnae Bouazza, Herman Van Goethem, Jeroen Olyslaegers, Joris Wijsmuller, Kay Sleking, Marije Langelaar, Paula Golunska, Uri Eugenio

    A festive program moderated by Hassnae Bouazza and built around the presentation of the Jan Campert Prizes, the literary awards of the City of The Hague. We celebrate Dutch literature with a variety of performances by writers, poets and musicians.

    Belgian author and poet Carmien Michels opens Writers Fest 2018 by reciting one of her poems. Then Arie Storm, novelist and critic, offers his take on 'The State of Dutch Literature'.

    Before Joris Wijsmuller, alderman for civic development, living, sustainability and culture with the City of The Hague, hands out the prizes to the winners, the audience determines which of the three nominated high schoolers will win the Young Campert Prize for a young poet from The Hague. The students present their own poems, written during poetry worshops at school.

    Marije Langelaar (1978) will then receive the Jan Campert Prize for her poetry collection Vonkt! (Sparks!) Her laudation is performed by dancer and choreographer Uri Eugenio, known for his appearances with Scapino and LeineRoebana and in So You Think You Can Dance.

    Jeroen Olyslaegers (1967) will receive the F. Bordewijk Prize for his novel WIL. He will be honoured by historian, jurist, lecturer and rector of the University of Antwerp Herman Van Goethem and noted actress Alejandra Theus, who will perform an excerpt from WIL.

    The Nienke van Hichtum Prize 2017 will be awarded to Annet Schaap (1965) for Lampje (Little Lamp); she will be serenated by tango guitarist and contrabassist Kay Sleking.

    The afternoon culminates with the awarding of the Constantijn Huygens Prize to Hans Tentije for his entire poetic Oeuvre. Tentije will be musically honoured by Cellist Ernst Reijseger and essayist Cyrille Offermans will make a celebratory speech.

    This event is a collaboration between Winternachten festival, the Jan Campert Foundation / Literatuurmuseum. Program in Dutch.